• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The most accurate DAC? (with respect to measurements)

Status
Not open for further replies.

newaudioguy77

Hi there.

I'm new to high-end audio. I recently bought a dongle for my android smartphone.

My question is - Which DAC on the market provides the most accurate audio quality? Price doesn't matter. But I'm looking for "top of the line" without design compromises.

I'm talking about faithful to the sound of the studio, without any "house sound" or EQs.

Recently I've been reading about "master clocks" and I hope to buy a DAC with one of those so jitter is really low or inaudible.

Please let me know what you guys think. I know measurements tell us the truth, so I believe I came to the right place.

Killingbeans

Major Contributor
My question is - Which DAC on the market provides the most accurate audio quality? Price doesn't matter. But I'm looking for "top of the line" without design compromises.

The best measuring DACs that's been reviewed here on ASR are the Topping D90SE and the Gustard X18.

That's your go-to DACs if you have a SINAD fetish.

I'm talking about faithful to the sound of the studio, without any "house sound" or EQs.

That's a whole different can of worms.

If you just want a DAC that's free from audible artifacts and have a ruler flat frequency response, you don't have to aim for SOTA gear, IMO.

DACs that don't d¤¤k around with your audio are dirt cheap these days.

Recently I've been reading about "master clocks" and I hope to buy a DAC with one of those so jitter is really low or inaudible.

Don't bother. It's a great tool in a studio to keep gear synchronized, but it will do absolutely nothing for your home stereo.