• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for a consensus on Wiim Pro Plus and DACs

bec143

I’m brand new to ASR. After a long retreat to Sonos and not messing around with my stereo, I recently got a starter TT because I like poking around record stores (Planar 3/Hana EL). This led to some other changes. I decided I was tired of my original Audio Physic Virgos and got new ATC SCM40s (which seem to be hated over here but sound great to me). And now that we are listening to main system again, I got a Wiim Pro+ (not knowing the Ultra was coming). My amp is an older YBA Passion Integre, which replaced a Naim system, and I still have a Naim CD5/Hicap (on its last legs).

Anyway- I like the Pro+ on first listen, using the RCA out and Tidal. I haven't had any EQ option for 20 years- it's nice! Trying to wade through all the threads here reminds me of my old days with various Squeezebox iterations and tweaks – most of which I still have in a box (linear power supply, several NOS DACs, a MF V-Dac, an early MQA meridian Explorer 2, and a Benchmark Dac1 that is on loan elsewhere).

Is there a clear consensus about the benefit of garden variety DACs to the Pro+? I no longer have the patience to endlessly swap nor want to spend a lot on a new DAC. But would like to set it up rationally. My DAC collection is old, but I see the V-DAC measured well here.

Bruce

staticV3

Master Contributor
Is there a clear consensus about the benefit of garden variety DACs to the Pro+?
In terms of pure sound quality, it doesn't get any better than the Pro+.

An external DAC may be preferred in that you can get native balanced output (XLR/TRS), for long cable runs without interference noise.