• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Sub-Woofer Switching Device (Beginner DIY)

Sashoir

Forum Donor
Dear all,

I wondered whether anyone could give me some pointers on the following "design". I have been trying to muddle through "Basic Electronics for Absolute Beginners"-type books along side various posts here and on the wider internet, but have no idea how well I am actually comprehending things. My sincere apologies for the technically illiterate diagramme: "resistor", "battery" and "switch" were the only symbols I recall from school (25+ years ago). The XLR In/Out circle mid-left of the diagramme is just a placeholder to remind me what I'm doing.
SW Mode Switcher.png

The aim is to have a single switch to change between two "modes". Mode A takes a mono phono input, and sends that same input to three mono phono outputs. Mode B takes Left and Right XLR inputs, and sends the Left XLR to one phono output, the Right XLR to one phono output, and the Left+Right mono sum to the third phono output.

The three outputs would be the phono inputs of three active sub-woofers. The stereo XLR inputs would be from a D/A converter, and the mono input would be from an A/V receiver.

The main questions I had were:
* if I actually connected this (including errors), what damage would I risk? I'm guessing that line-level signals are not going to be hazardous to my health provided I take reasonable care.
* I found the stereo to mono summation circuit on the internet (from Rane). I understand the concept (I think), but I have absolutely no idea how the actual designer would have calculated the resistor values