• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Standmounts or Floorstander for this room

newerror

Hi there,

I'm a newbie trying to compile my new hifi setup. What I struggle most is WAF and decision on floorstanders or standmount speakers. They would be placed about 3m in distance from each other as well as roughly 2.8m from listening position. We plan to do the whole front wall new so a new sideboard will be coming on the lift we will ad a bookshelf and also some heavy curtain in front of the window. I do now that the corner situation is not good for speakers, but I really have no other option with kids and cats.

I did run a trial with a Lyngdorf-3400 and some Sonus Faber Olympica II. I placed them left and right of the sideboard which looked a bit awkward since they're just too close to each other and we anyway want to redo that wall and get a larger sideboard and get the left speaker closer to the left wall. Sound quality was bit underwhelming even though I had only little time to do measurements with the Lyngdorf but definitely heard a huge impact and a very clear bass.

Room Specs:
- 4x5m2 =ca. 20m2 in the Sofa/TV area, but it's just a port of the living room that has roughly 65m2.
- Large window (will get a heavy curtain) and mostly dry wall or brick wall.

My questions:
1) Do you think the room is large enough for floor standers or would I profit more from standmounts and a sub soundwise?
2) When I did room correction in the room with Room Perfect, Bass got very precise, but almost no changes to mids and highs is this normal? I mean I have a large glass window, corner situation etc.