• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Sennheiser or Bose Headphones

Mitchie23

Hi There, I've been using a Sony MDR since 2017, and up until now I can say the sound is still excellent, noise cancellation not bad and still comfortable when worn. I'm planning to get a new one this year, I would like to try either Sennheiser or Bose. I've been researching and trying a lot and so far quite impressed with the Sennheiser HD660 bass, response, clarity and comfort. Bose 700 is also very sleek in its noise-cancelling features. I also want to share some relevant review I got - Sennheiser HD. Still looking for reviews about the Bose 700. Any recommendations based on experiences? :D

ShiZo

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Focal Clear is my favorite open back. I like focal for their elegia for a closed back too.

Next I like the hd 650, but I always wanted to try the 660s or hd 600's.

I think the he4xx is a surprisingly good headphone

I started with the hd 280's and hd 598's. Both were good for their intended purposes.

Last edited:

JEntwistle

Forum Donor
The two headphones you are deciding between are two very different animals and really made for different purposes. The Bose are wireless, noise cancelling, microphone, closed back. The Sennheiser are wired, open back. These are all major differences. So it really depends on what you want to use them for.

Since you have Sony MDRs, have you heard an open back headphone like the Sennheiser HD660? They are a bit different: you will be able to hear external sounds, and you people close to you may be able to hear your music if played loudly. So that is decision #1.

Decision #2 is whether you need noise cancelling.