• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

PrimaLuna Dialogue Seven Tube Amp Review

Rate this amplifier:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 210 88.6%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 9 3.8%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 6 2.5%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 12 5.1%

• Total voters

KEM

I'm pretty sure that the design goal was to make this amp have a type of sound that a lot of listeners prefer. Creating an amp with good specs that is neutral was not important.
I am a very tech guy who strives for good performance. But I can understand the reasoning behind this design. Some tube based amps put a rosy glow around the sound, smooth out the highs and put a lot of blubber on the bass. somewhat similar to what the Koetsu MC cartridges provide for LPs. Is this bad? No. Just different. Tube amps of this type will never measure well.
There is a market for this type of gear. Buyers are not interested in the specs. They want that warm glow coming out of the speakers.
And I'm all for that. I am tired of systems (and especially phono cartridges) that have so much clean detail that the sound becomes tiring very quickly.

The goals of this website are the antithesis of the design goals for this amp. It is not truly fair to diss the measured performance. Some of the "obvious flaws" are not at all flaws, but means to achieve a type of sound that measures horribly but sounds great to some ears.

maty

Major Contributor
I'm pretty sure that the design goal was to make this amp have a type of sound that a lot of listeners prefer. Creating an amp with good specs that is neutral was not important...

CARY AUDIO SLI-80HS