• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Passive 3-way crossover recommendations

gags11

Forum Donor
I am converting my DIY speakers from active to passive. Would appreciate if you guys can point me to the right place or brand to get a passive 3-way crossover. I wish I could build it myself, but I’m not an engineer.

It can be anywhere from 300-500hz and 2.5khz-3.5khz range for crossover points. I bought a PRV 3-way crossover, but it is horrible. Not cutting the frequencies and causing resonances. Thanks in advance!

digitalfrost

Major Contributor
This is not possible. There are formulas that work theoretically, but in practice, the frequency response of your drivers in that specific baffle, with the impedance that they have, it will not work. Especially not in a 3-way.

These are not components that just work regardless of other components. They all interact with each other. Any attempt to buy ready-made crossovers will fail.

OP
G

gags11

Forum Donor
This is not possible. There are formulas that work theoretically, but in practice, the frequency response of your drivers in that specific baffle, with the impedance that they have, it will not work. Especially not in a 3-way.

These are not components that just work regardless of other components. They all interact with each other. Any attempt to buy ready-made crossovers will fail.

If I’m understanding this correctly, you are saying that even though I had great results with a simple active analog crossover, this would not be possible with a passive one?

digitalfrost

Major Contributor