• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need recommendation for AMP for B&W 707 S2

Springfeel

Hello,

Recently my friend gave me a pair of Bowers and Wilkins 707 S2 speakers, and I am trying to find an amplifier that can bring out the full potential of these speakers. I noticed that the Cambridge Audio CXA-81 was on sale at Crutchfield and felt that it would be a good match, but noticed the review by Emir on it and gained the impression that it wasn't as great as the reviews say. For reference I am pretty new to this hobby and was hopeful to gain some insights from others who are more knowledgeable about speakers so that I can make an informed decision. My application would be to use these as desktop speakers for both gaming and listening to music. I unfortunately am not able to audition these speakers with different sources & amps so I really would appreciate any advice from people who are familiar with speakers / own these particular speakers.

Although I was initially drawn in by the CXA-81 due to the sale price, after perusing some of the reviews on this site I can't help but feel there is better value out there (eg. Emir's review on the Topping LA90). If the LA90 offers better performance than the CXA-81 for hundreds of dollars less, I could put that money towards a DAC that would allow me to connect to other sources via USB, bluetooth, TOSLINK, etc. I know that bluetooth is lossy but would appreciate a setup that would allow me to connect wirelessly to stream music from multiple devices. Any advice is deeply appreciated.

Joffy1780

Addicted to Fun and Learning
What budget are you working with?

P.S. it's Amir by the way ;)

OP
Springfeel

Springfeel

What budget are you working with?