• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Complete newbie flirting with the idea of passive speakers + DAC/AMP setup for my desktop PC. Advice greatly appreciated!

quokka

Hello! Basically the title.

I'd like to move away from the "gaming" 1337 2.1 PC speaker setup and try out a DAC/AMP with monitors. I'm no audiophile, and don't know much about this type of equipment. I've tried to do a lot of research this weekend, and I have some questions where I'd need some help with, please:

1. I'm currently heavily favoring some wall-mounted monitors that are sleeker and can fit in slightly behind and above my displays - the Dali Oberon On-Wall and Argon Forus 5 Wall. I know that Dali is the bigger brand, but I'm struggling to find reviews for either. Would the Oberons be clearly better (with them being Dalis and all), or would the Foruses work well enough as well? Asking because there's a considerable price difference between the two, and it would be more advantageous for me to get the Forus 5 Wall speakers, but if the Oberon On-Walls are the bees knees in comparison, I can spring the cash for them

2. Is the Topping MX5 a good enough DAC/AMP to power the speakers above? I'd very much prefer either a combo that has both, or 2 separate units, that are as cheap and low-profile on my desk as possible :). I was also looking at the Cambridge AXA25, but it's so big in comparison