• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Low impedence valve amps/bi amping in general

Charles_b

Good morning guys. Complete newbie here so I'll try not to sound too stupid!

1)I was after recommendations for a valve pre amp with output impedence <200 ohm and less than £500/$625 (new or used).
I am concidering a preamp for a quad 606 (input impedence 20k).

2) is any preamp cabable of bi amping? I'm am concidering getting another SS amp further down the line but can't find (or understand!) online sources. E.g-would my current quad 66 pre amp work biamping 2 power amps?

3) What are the arguments for actually mixing a valve preamp with a solid state power amp?
Initially, I was looking at buying a valve power amplifier and bi amping with the quad 606 (SS to drive the lows and Valve to drive the highs) but decent valve power amps are quite expensive. I saw a valve preamp as a "cheaper" alternative to get into valves as I believe they can be often found cheaper (especially chinese pre amps)-correct me if I'm wrong?

Apologies for the long winded questions (and possibly stupid!). Any help would be greatly appreciated! Charles

gene_stl

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
1) The first thing you have to ask yourself is why would you want to use tubes for anything when integrated circuit chip based equipment is better in every dimension and criterion. If you are using a quad power amp , get a quad preamp to go with it then you won't have any matching problems.