• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The old impedance matching & output capacitor value questions

OldManMatt

Hello to anyone that reads this, hope life is being good to you. I have a question that seems to have been asked a thousand times yet I still need a little clarification. I hope I posted this in the correct area, and all though I'm not a newbie or beginner to audio I felt maybe these are beginner questions.

The last year or so I've been dabbling in DIY type stuff, replacing old parts on old gear, tube preamp kits, a couple dynakit rebuilds. So my question comes from me working on a tube preamp, fixing a couple issues that the prior owner left for me. I do have to take out the output capacitors on this preamp and I've been told I need to raise the value to make sure my bass rolloff is high enough for the low input impedance of the power amp..so here's my questions.

If the builder of the preamp designed the preamp to send the full bandwidth with say a .22uf output cap and there is no impedance mismatch between the Pre and Power amp, why do I need to raise the value? The power amp has a low 10k ohm input impedance. The output Z of the pre is like 100 ohms. Should be a big enough gap to cause no issues, but that depends on who you ask. If I follow the normal guidelines I read everywhere I should up the value on the cap to at least 2.2uf I believe, I didn't check the capacitor calculator but this number is what was thrown in my ear.