• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for first pair of home studio monitors (Video Editor)

coreking

Hello.

For context, I work as a full time video editor and often times I have to deal with a little sound mixing on my projects. These include voice EQ, sound effects and music.

At this point I'm using my Macbook Pro speakers and Hyperx Cloud II to mix. Of course this might be the worst combination to get a decent mix, but that's what I have at now at home and that's why I've decided to make an upgrade and purchase a new pair of headphones and studio monitors.

Mainly working remotely at home in a kinda small room (4,5 meters x 2,5 meters) and have no room treatment for sound.

For headphones, I'm looking at the Beyerdynamic 770 pro 80 Ohm as I've seen many people recommending them.

Studio monitors are where my doubts come in and need your help. I know that I need a flat sound but that's as far as my knowledge goes in audio field.

Some of the monitors I've been looking for my tight budget: 150€ (I live in Europe)

Presonus Eris 3.5 (2nd gen)
Edifier MR4-2.0
M-Audio BX4

Also worth mentioning that I'm much more used to edit on headphones so therefore the speakers will serve as more of a reference.

What are your thoughts?

Last edited:

staticV3

Master Contributor
Very much not flat (link):
CEA2034 -- PreSonus Eris E3.5 2ng Gen.png

Edifier MR4-2.0
Passable (link):
CEA2034 -- Edifier MR4 Powered Monitor.png

M-Audio BX4
Not great (link):
1646421295662.png

What are you thoughts?
I'd look for a used pair of JBL 305P MKII speakers:
Screenshot_20231015-152021_Chrome.png CEA-2034 -- JBL 305P MkII.png
(Link)

Last edited:
OP
C

coreking

Very much not flat (link):
View attachment 318996