• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

KEF LS50 Meta vs KEF R3

ZRMN995

Thank you all for valuable replies and good advice.
In the mean time I had an opportunity to listen LS50W II + KC62 and I was really amazed with what I heard and landed my choice on that combo.
That doesn't leave me much room for some high-end amps/streamers, like Lyngdorf you suggested.

Could yall recommend me some good product for correction and cross-over which doesn't break the bank?
This might sound like a stupid question but I'm really new to all this and just need a few good recommendations to attach to my speakers to bring their game up :)

Last edited:

harkpabst

LS50W II already include all the amplification and streaming capabilities, there's no need for other devices (unless you want to connect e.g. a turntable or a tape recorder). It's a fully featured music playback system, active speakers with DSP and support for all kinds of streaming services, UPnP/DLNA, Bluetooth and so on.

Also, KC62 is an active subwoofer (most subs are active). Together those two will allow you to configure sub integration and apply some positioning dependant bass filtering. No need for external crossovers.

Full room EQ is currently not available from KEF. It makes no sense to try and add that through 3rd party devices because anything you want to feed into the system would have to go through this device. Thus, you would pay for all the other playback features of the LS50W II, but would not make use of the .

The whole idea behind LS50 Wireless II is that you don't need anything else, except for a smartphone or computer.

Last edited:

Vacceo

Major Contributor
Thank you all for valuable replies and good advice.