• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Is Audyssey microphone a calibrated spl meter

gelv

Hi
This is my first post here although ive been lurking the forum for years
Im still a beginner when it comes to hifi better than people in my friend circle but a beginner compared to real audio enthusiasts

I recently came across a thread here thats discussing how to use audyssey microphone included with denon avr with REW with a calibration file from the youtube channel OCA. This made me research the difference between umik 1 vs audyssey calibration microphone But i was unable to find info wether or not the audyssey mic is a calibrated spl meter

Basically If it is then i can make use with the audyssey mic while saving money by not buying umik while also avoiding having another hardware piece at home lol
I dont do much measurements But recently ive noticing that my sound system is not as good sounding as it was years ago which made me quickly measure the frequency response with an android app where i discovered that i have a huge null from 100hz to 300hz. This started When i moved to another apartment but this is a subject for another thread.

Is the audyssey microphone a decently calibrated spl meter?
Thank you

Also unrelated question what are tags that i can use on this thread?

staticV3

Master Contributor
Since the audyssey microphone has a 3.5mm analog output and depends on an external mic pre and ADC with unknown gain and sensitivity, it cannot be a calibrated SPL meter on its own.

The UMIK-1 in contrast has its own mic pre and ADC with known sensitivity and gain, and can therefore be a calibrated SPL meter out of the box.