• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Hypex Ncore NC122MP VS NC252MP

JeremyFife

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I am a scientist myself (molecular biologist) and I always get surprised by the rigorous scientific approach to audio in this forum.

As I cannot provide more accurate measurements that could help with a data-based answer, I see two main schools of thought when addressing the question "subjectively":
1) You're fine if you can't hear clipping.
2) Get as much power as you can.

At the end of the day, if I have to invest in a full set of tools to be able to properly measure amp power delivery, I would rather go for a more powerful amp :).

Assuming that I am happy with the volume level that I get from my system and that I cannot hear any sign of clipping or distortion at my normal listening level, is there any benefit in getting more power?

Thanks a lot! I really appreciate your help and learn a lot from your answers.
That urge to upgrade is a killer :). Leave your Amp alone... Start researching new speakers

Meantime, a umic measurement microphone isn't expensive and will keep you really busy - so busy that you might put off upgrading. It's also the best way you can improve your sound.

Enjoy

Verig

Doubling the power give you 3dB that's it. lol
That's not relevant here. If you double the power of beefy enough amp then all you get is 3dB.

If you double the power of an insufficient amp you get greatly improved performance at all volume levels - that is, your speakers function like they should.
It's not a volume issue. If you need more volume you buy bigger more efficient speaker, not new amp.

Verig