• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How To Excel At Technical Support

Steve81

Forum Donor
Hi folks. I recently wrote this up as a sort of reminder to myself of what it takes to successfully solve a problem. A little backstory: I was a network administrator for a company for ~15 years and left my job for personal reasons just prior to the start of the pandemic. I remained out of the workforce (by choice, no sympathy/pity needed) for three years before circumstances required me to find another job. This new job was providing technical assistance to dental offices. Knowing diddly squat about the hardware and software bits dental offices use (practice management software, imaging hardware/software, specialized scanning equipment, and so forth), I was in many senses starting from scratch. Adhering to these steps has helped me not only survive but thrive in my new job. The steps are simple of course, and nothing groundbreaking, but here they are:

Step 1: Politely introduce yourself to the client, and if applicable, explain why you are calling them.

Step 2: Observe and document the issue. Every scrap of data you gather, from screenshots to logs will help you diagnose the problem.

Step 3: Based on the data collected, form a hypothesis on why the problem is occurring, and apply the appropriate fix.

Step 4: Test the fix. If it doesn’t work, go back a step.

Step 5: If the troubleshooting process is taking a while, make sure to keep the client up to date on your progress.