• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help selecting components for audio processing solution ?

mamba76

Hi all. This might be an unusual question but Im looking for a new audio processing system for my car. Im tired of using miniDSP and trying to get anwsers from them but in the digital audio world this is my only experience. I can't get the solution I want easily with their hardware, as great as it is so it makes me wonder how someonewho does know the really technical stuff would approach it.

Its a USB streamed system Im dealing with and Id prefer to avoid spdif and maintain the use of the i2s bus. I believe this is doable from what Iv read but I have no experience with i2S yet. This is the solution Id like -

- USB stream in
- PEQ processing of this input (at least 10 bands)
- Split this proccessed signal at least 7 ways
- Processing on EACH of the 7 channels to include -
PEQ proccessing (a total of at least 12 bands)
delay (at least 35ms)
input / output gain
crossovers

Using the miniDSP products the plug and play way Id need to buy a really expensive 2 x 8 kit just to split the signal and that requires conversion to balanced inputs, it just seems totally uneccessary. So now Im open to other products from other manufacturers or a DIY solution that could match the quality of miniDSP(?) If someone could outline a more streamlined approach to achieve the above capabilities without throwing money at products that would not be fully utilised. If a DIY solution is needed Im prepared to learn I just don't know where to start.

Thanks

OP
M

mamba76

I'm afraid MiniDSP is your only option.