• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help me keep my dog and my house - temporary sound reduction for limited time

Dogdaydawn

I need to reduce sound transmission in an area of a room temporarily but keep ventilated.

Hi appreciate you are not a pet forum but I have a physics degree and basic knowledge and I was hoping you would be the group to help me out. Dog backstory below. Problems:

1. I need to reduce reverb. Dog pitches till it bounces well.

2. Neighbor sound transmission through floor, wall and fireplace. (Dog crate does not touch wall)

Would really appreciate a heads up on what below is nonsense and what might help. Also anything I’ve missed. Cheap and temporary. Crate already covered to keep dark.

Thinking:

Option 1: free

- someone gave me acoustic foam panels. Appreciate these seem to be agreed to be useless but I think I could get the refurb down a bit. Position on boards and by trial and error, angles and guesswork work out how best to use. Maybe hang one of the boards with the tiles from ceiling with tape.
- use some spare normal curtains/blankets to muffle reflective walls
-double rug and use all my exercise mats to elevate dog crate.

Option 2: spend a bit of money but undertake no carpentry beyond a staple gun

- mass loaded vinyl matting on floor and one side of crate
- might as well use the free panels but get some other acoustic panels with mass for neighbor walls
- do something with the corners. Maybe rock wool insulation in tube taped up?
- maybe buy soundproof curtains.

Option 3: go ambitious but without contractors. Same as 2 but