• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Hello! Audio newbie looking for advice

bricko

Hi everyone! :)

I'm an engineering student and former forum-lurker looking to start my journey into quality audio. I've been looking to get a decent system for a while, and this year I'm actually going to bite the bullet. I've been obsessing over speaker and amplifier reviews, and before I go in anymore circles I figured this would be the best place to learn some stuff and get some advice. The "best" speaker I currently own is an Anker Soundcore Motion + Bluetooth speaker which is great as far as small, portable, Bluetooth speakers go, but it is quite evident that it is not the best solution to a more-permanent setup.

Here are the details and constraints for what I'm looking for:
-Location: Nearfield desktop 2.1 setup in ~10'×12' room (might go 2.0 if I find a subwoofer unnecessary)
-Usage: The majority of the time these speakers will be used to enjoy music, but as I am a musician I would also like them to be accurate in order to use them for critical listening. They will be connected to my laptop as the main input source, and I would like to be able to connect to them via Bluetooth from my phone.
-Sound signature: I listen to a wide variety of genres, but when I listen to heavier genres (e.g. electronic music, rock, metal) I really enjoy accurate and solid bass reproduction. Regarding treble and mids, I would like something that is clear and smooth but not fatiguing to listen to for extended periods of time.
-Budget: ~$350-400 USD (If I could spend even less that would be preferable. This does not include a subwoofer.)
-Note: I own a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 interface so I don't think I will need to purchase a DAC.