• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DIY Passive Speaker Kit for First Timer (Near-Field on Desk)

JohnnyN

Hi all,

Does anyone have a DIY passive speaker kit recommendation for a first timer? This would be for use near-field on a desk. In my office at work, so something that sounds good at low volumes. I listen to a wide variety of music and listen to a lot of hip-hop, so a speaker with little bass output would not be ideal for me (I don’t plan on using a subwoofer). It’s a very large desk, so I do have the flexibility to go with something on the larger side for a desktop. A kit with the cabinet pieces included is preferred, since this is my first time assembling a speaker. Trying to keep it under $300 for the kit.

Thanks in advance!

alex-z

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Even fairly large bookshelf speakers like the Dayton BR-1 or Hitmaker MT only get down to about 50Hz. I would recommend one of those kits, and somehow find space for a small sub to reach 30Hz.

Here is what my BR-1 achieved on a desk with an 8" ported sub. 1/6 octave smoothing, EQ was used, but only cuts, no boosting.

Attachments

• br1 desktop frequency.jpg
    br1 desktop frequency.jpg
    205.8 KB · Views: 281
Last edited:

xarkkon

Colonel7

Hi all,