• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Classical Instruments: Historical or Modern?

MRC01

Major Contributor
I am listening to this recording of Haydn Divertimenti. It's very well recorded, natural & detailed.

The gimmick here is that they play a set of 6 pieces on period/historical instruments, then play them again on modern instruments.
Which do you prefer? I definitely prefer the period instruments. For context, I'm an amateur flute player and play with strings in a small group.

PatF

Big question and sometimes controversial :). I am advocate of playing music on instruments for which it was conceived but I am strongly agains putting artists in authenticity shackles. There is still (after ca. 80 years of early music movement) a lot to research and do. I would like to see more bold projects like:

Midnight Audiophile

I read this article a few weeks ago and thought it was interesting:
Screen Shot 2022-08-24 at 9.00.58 AM.png

PatF

I read this article a few weeks ago and thought it was interesting:
View attachment 226377
This is another story... we are not talking about old instruments but period instruments. What a difference ?