• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best way to upgrade my 2nd hand Linn system

streamophile

Hello ASR,

First-time posting here, I hope you're all doing great.

I'm quite new to the audio world and a couple of years ago I bough a second hand Linn system on the cheap. Linn was the only brand I knew, had heard equipment from and so had some experience with. My father had a full Linn system, so I just followed his steps. That being said, after some reading, I believe I could do better. Therefore, I'm now on a quest to level up my audio setup, and I could really use your thoughts and suggestions to find the best bang-for-my-buck way to do so.

Current Setup:
  • Speakers: Linn Ninka
  • Amp: Linn Majik (old-school first-gen)
  • Source: Chromecast Audio (plugged in via RCA straight into the Majik amp) playing local audio files and Sportify.
What's Bugging Me:
  • Room reality check: My Linn Ninka speakers are probably too big for my room (20 m2), and I could use something less weighty and space-hogging.
  • Amp's age: The Linn Majik amp is showing its age, being a first-generation model and all. Probably it is also close to being underpowered to drive the Ninkas.
  • DAC issues: Chromecast Audio's built-in DAC is passable but I think I could do better. I also use the system to watch TV and a separate DAC could allow me to connect the TV digitally rather than through the current RCA connection that is using the TVs probably very poor DAC
  • Sound quirks: Sometimes high-pitched frequencies get a bit fatiguing, making me hit the volume down button. Also, I'm missing some bass oomph for my taste, although this mostly happens with not-so-great quality Spotify streaming, which may well be the culprit