• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Around $700 Budget, To Improve or New Speakers

Around $700 Budget to Spend, new Speakers or Something else...

• Replace the AVR with - SVS Soundbase / Yamaha A-S501 / Denon PMA-600NE / Topping PA5 AMP + DAC ?

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
I hope to get more insight on this subject as I am a complete novice with untrained ears.

What I have currently...
  • JBL Studio 530 - Recently Bought.
  • Old AVR Yamaha HTR5450
Room Size about 30 ft. x 18 ft. - Listening distance 9 ft. or 10 ft.
I've setup the speaker to the best that I could, 8' apart, even symmetry from the side and back wall, tweeter around Ear level. I don't know what is it but something doesn't click with me when compared to it on a Desk. The vocals are nice and stands out above all else. Might be the lack of imaging, separation and bass? Is it because I have to play it louder? I'm not sure. Its feels mediocre at this distance.

I've only play around with speaker placement for a few days but so far I felt like the Studio 530 sounds better at on my Desk. I'm stuck on what I should do next. I'm thinking are these not good / ideal for the Room? Should I get a new set of Speaker for this room Size? Would a Subwoofer help fix it? Too many questions going through my mind. My main Priority is Music Listening so everything else is 2ndary. I don't care for Home Theater -fwiw

Any insight is much appreciated.
Thanks.

luft262