• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Anyone have experience with the Carmody "Spitfire" kit or the Sobie "Blues" kit? Both use HiVi woofer but different tweeters

cavedriver

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Looking at these two kits for an easy bookshelf build. They are very similar with the main difference being the SB tweeter in the Blues vs the Airborne tweeter in the Spitfire. Also, thinking of using the Denovo knock-down cabinets from Parts Express- any warnings there? I don't suppose either has been put on a Klippel by anyone?

moonlight rainbow dream

I would personally avoid these two designs even though I have no first hand experience. This is because, even if the crossover and on-axis frequency response is executed to perfection (which is not a given; check out Erin's measurement of Carmody's Overnight Sensations), the directivity mismatch between the midwoofer and tweeter are not addressed. These will exhibit the typical off-axis "bloom" in the crossover region; ~1.8-3khz in typical 6" 2-ways. You can EQ in a "BBC dip" to make the sound less offensive, but then the on-axis response is flawed. Once you have lived with a speaker that nails both directivity and frequency response, you won't want to go back to one that doesn't. In that regard, I can enthusiastically recommend the parts express C-note, which makes use of a waveguide tweeter. That design has been measured by Amir.

OP
C

cavedriver