• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

A Raspberry Pi as a music server

michaelb56

I know you've been asked and answered a thousand times, but, I am new to this. Been doing a lot of reading and listening on this subject. I want to setup a Wifi, no cables, music streaming system in my house. My CD's have been ripped to my tablet and plan to have about 4 speakers.

My plan:-
Raspberry Pi 4 - 2GB Ram
Micro SD card - 32GB
DAC and/or Amp
Volumio/MOOde etc.

What I would like to know is;

Do I need to install an operating system on to the SD card, and if so which one?, before installing Volumio/MOOde etc or do they include an OS?
If I install an internal DAC - Allo Boos, HIFIBerry, will I also need an Amp? In either scenario, what would you reccommend?

Download the respective app to the tablet.

Aldoszx

Volumio, M00de are all operating systems !
You have to install, only one of them, following the installation instruction from their sites.
If you install a HAT DAC or USB DAC you will ned an amp for passive speakers.
If you have active speakers, you don't need an amp !

michaelb56

Thank you, that clears up some confusion, re - Volumio etc. I'm planning on haaving active speakers.
What is a good HAT DAC?, or they much alike?

Aldoszx

Thank you, that clears up some confusion, re - Volumio etc. I'm planning on haaving active speakers.
What is a good HAT DAC?, or they much alike?

If you want a HAT DAC, I think Hifiberry is good enough.
But, I would recommend USB DAC and a good case for RPi4, like Akasa Pi-4 Pro or Argon One.
RPi4 runs hotter than older boards and you will need a good cooling for it.
Using a HAT, could make it even hotter.

TheWalkman