• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SMSL-SU1 connection method to Raspberry Pi 4B, optimal one.

cattinde

This is my very first post here, as I am a newbie at the moment. And I apologize for being off-topic at first, but I need a bit of explanation. Over the years I've mostly listened to music using a PC and a set of 2.1 desktop speakers with subwoofer. I have an active type, a fairly old model from Boston Acoustic, with phenomenal sound, I've rarely seen anything like it when compared in size and construction. It was sufficient in conjunction with Winamp for years to play mostly FLAC files. Now I'm using Foobar2000 and trying a different setup. So, I took a look at what I have: an old, almost unused Yamaha HTR-5830 AVR, an older model Philips DVP5990 DVD player, used exclusively for watching compressed MKV video files, is gathering dust on the shelf. It has a good decoder chip and was bought for just that purpose. Also a pair of vintage SONY 3-way passive speakers. A couple of hundred compact discs... I connected DVD with coaxial cable to AVR and to be honest, I was not very happy with the quality, compare of what I heard when playing FLAC on PC. Times have changed and I somehow came to the need for an external DAC. I hooked up an SMSL SU-01 to it with a coax, and it was a real game changer..... So I feel involved in something new to me. Took the Raspberry Pi 4B that I have and installed Volumio on it.