• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Gustard X16 Balanced MQA DAC Review

Pdxwayne

Major Contributor
Could the fluctuations in uk mains voltage cause this? They are quite large, or maybe the regulation of the power supply per device? Non regulated would certainly be worse but even regulation has fluctuation doesnt it?
Hmm, if you are talking about the person who was going to return the x16, I also have such suspicion....But I am no expert...So, just suspicion about power, but is @gofry from UK?

Also, as measured by me, voltages output when being fed -16db from REW, X16 has the lowest output as compared to E30 and KTB across all freq range. So if @gofry simply switch inputs when doing listening comparisons, without voltage/volume match, it is possible that when using Yamaha own DAC, it is louder, thus X16 seems less clear as comparison.

Edit:
Here is my measurement table. Again, my multi meter is not accurate. Just consistent and can show a trend.
ktb_e30_x16_as_is.PNG

Last edited:

Pdxwayne

Major Contributor
No mate everyone is in full agreement here :D

And no, testing NOS/ AKM super slow vs a non-broken filter does not prove anything. You're just empirically performing a frequency response test.. standardized measurements are far more reliable ;)
Good, that is a good start from you. Agreeing that indeed DAC can sound different, when certain conditions are met.... : P

So, no longer everything is imagined, subjective placebo, right?

Last edited:

Pdxwayne

Major Contributor
No mate everyone is in full agreement here :D