• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen measurements

Matias

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I am totally new to doing loopback measurements in REW, this is my first try, so please correct me if there is a better way to do this.

I have a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd generation audio interface and connected the Output 1 line out into the Input 3 line in using a 1/4" TS cable with about 2 meters (7 feet) that I have here. Using a 1 kHz sine wave full scale and set the monitor level to the max.

I tried to compare the difference between the stock switching mode power supply (SMPS) and the iFi iPower SMPS.

While measuring I noticed the noise floor raised and lowered with ambient noises. :oops: I tried closing the doors and windows and grab the screen shot in best moments, but microphony definitely has been picked, specially between 80 to 300 Hz.

Questions:
1. Is there a better way to measure without picking up microphonics? In the middle of the night maybe?
EDIT: fixed here https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...tt-6i6-2nd-gen-measurements.12761/post-379502

2. Are these lots of harmonics OK? I found this to be quite noisy. I expected around -100dB some 2nd and 3rd, sure, but not the higher ones.

3. Any settings in REW I should use to improve these measurements?

Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen - stock SMPS.png

Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen - iFi iPower SMSP.png

REW.png

Last edited:

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer
What happens as you reduce the tone level?

I think REW throws some harmonics unless you back it off a little.

(Maybe it was an earlier version... Not seeing it today.)

Last edited:

naagratrax