• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Message to golden-eared audiophiles posting at ASR for the first time...

DHT 845

Addicted to Fun and Learning
IKEA

Since this is my first post I'm guessing I should make it here?

I like to consider myself an objectivist (even though I'm probably not) and I try to buy my stuff, using objective criteria BUT what stays in my system and what doesn't is most of the time purely emotional and subjective. I've had the odd piece of gear that measured incredibly good but sounded off and the replacement that measured equally good sounded good to me. Strange, I know.
I am a musician, an audio engineer trained in critical listening and my hearing is good, so my (according to some HIFI-Shop owners in my area) very arrogant opionion is "If I can't hear it and they can't produce measurements to convince me otherwise, it's not there". Also: Just because I think I can hear it, it doesn't mean it's there. It's a constant battle with myself.

As an audio engineer I tend to buy professional grade stuff, that's good quality but reasonably priced. I wouldn't go as far as to say the cheapest cables or crossover components, for example, are as good as higher quality ones. But there's a threshold of "good enough" that is clearly measurable and everything beyond that I consider unnecessary. On the other hand I clearly get why people want fancy looking cables to go with their fancy looking equipment - as we all know, we hear with our eyes too.