• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What are the highest-quality speakers suggested combining with an Aiyima A07?

ovi

I'm new to audio, have decent speaker wires, a good-enough DAC and an Aiyima A07 amp. Lets assume the amp is the weakest link in the chain.

Can someone give me some examples of “highest-level” bookshelf speakers to pair with this amp?

What I am trying to figure out is where the balance lies, I mean I could pair 5-figure speakers with this amp as well as below 100$ speakers.
I am sure there is a limit where better speakers will not be noticeable because I reached the “quality-limits” of this amp.

Can I get some examples where I would not be spending money on high quality speakers when I could get the result with cheaper speakers?

i.e. I could power a pair of Elac Debut 2.0 B5.2 or a pair of KEF R3 - if the difference isn't audible with this amp, obviously I'd go with the cheaper ELACs.

Does that make sense? Looking forward to some feedback.

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
As long as the amp has enough power to push the speakers you choose to the volume you need in your room, the sky is the limit. The speakers will almost certainly be the sonic limitation.

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor

MaxwellsEq

Major Contributor
It's a good amplifier. It's not particularly powerful. I think desktop or small bookshelf speakers will be fine. If it was me, I'd probably look for a more powerful amp if I was planning to spend 500 or more on speakers.

Steven Holt

Forum Donor