• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Turntable and Speaker Set-up

Bville

I recently purchased an AT-LPW40WN turntable and KantoYU6 speakers. I should say that I am very new to turntables so if I don't sound like I know what I'm talking about...I don't. With that said I have two hopefully easy questions.

I see that both the turntable and speaker have a preamp. So if I want to use the preamp included with the turntable I should set both the turntable and the speaker to LINE - correct? Alternatively, if I want to use the speaker preamp, I would set both the turntable and the speaker to PHONO. I believe I have that right but I figured it would be best to confirm.

Second, I see that there is a place to attach a ground wire on both the turntable and the speaker. So does that mean I need to use a RCA cable with a ground wire? Or can I connect them with just the RCA inputs. The reason I ask is that the RCA wire with the ground that was provided with my turntable is not long enough and I have a RCA cable without a ground that would be the right length. If I need to purchase a new one, any recommendations on a good/reasonably priced RCA cable with ground?

Thanks in advance!

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Right. You only need one preamp.

A preamp amplifies the tiny signal from a phono cartridge (or microphone) to line level. A phono preamp also applies RIAA playback equalization. If you use a microphone preamp (flat response) with a turntable you get greatly boosted highs and greatly attenuated bass.

A power amplifier boosts the line level signal to higher voltage & current to drive a speaker.