• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

System Measurements with REW questions

clerens

Hi

Just got my new Revel f35 and want to setup my hometheater with the help of measurments. Since I am new to this I have lots of questions about REW and setting up for the measurments.
First things first, this is my setup:
  • mains: Revel f35
  • center: Klipsch RP-400c (waiting for Revel C25)
  • sourrounds and Atmos (2): Monitor Audio CP CT260
  • Receiver: Yamaha RX-A780
  • Subwoofer: SVS SB1000
  • UMIK microphon for REW
I have worked half a day to get my first measurments because of ASIO drivers and Windows setup. There are lots of tutorials on REW but there are some basics I just don't get. Nobody explains what parameters you have to set on your receiver. I know how to measure the mains: just set them to "large" + turn of the subwoofer and so I got measurements for Left, Right and for both at the same time. But how do I have to measure the Subwoofer? When I measure it the level doesn't match the level of the mains. How can I get them to match? Since I'm sending test signals by HDMI cable I do send LFE channel test tone but when I'll crossover the mains again, the subwoofer will get the low bass signal of the mains + LFE. That's causing my biggest confusion.
Next thing I don't understand is how to measure the whole system (Left + Right + Subwoofer), or do I even want to do this?
There are tons of other questions and I didn't even start to get to the rest of the 5.1.2 system.
My goal is to get measurements to setup the speakers + subwoofer well. Just to know what distance to the walls the mains should have, my seating position and the best subwoofer location.

Your help is very much appriciated!
Clemens

Attachments