• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Sony TA-AN1000 AVR with Klipsch 5.1 setup

XNetworkX

I'm new to all this home theatre world. I have recently started looking to build a home theatre system, but not sure about some aspects so looking for some guidance. I am looking at getting a Sony TA-AN1000 AVR with a 5.1 Klipsch speakers. I needed to know if this receiver would be able to drive a pair of Klipsch RP-600m ii bookshelf front speakers, Klipsch R30C centre channel, a pair of rear Klipsch 50m and Klipsch R-121 subwoofer.

According to Richer Sounds in UK, this Sony AVR which is released very recently here in the UK pushes 85w per channel, although two channels are stated as 120w each on some specs. Klipsch RP 600mii are 8 ohm 100 watt speakers, so would this Sony receiver be under powered to run those speakers in a 5.1 config? I understand that it's better to have more power available per channel then the other way around. I am concerned that 85 watt per channel would lead to clipping or other adverse effects over time to that fairly expensive Klipsch speakers.

Please note that there's no pre-amp out on this particular UK model of the STR-AN1000, which is the US model of this AVR.

Any insight/guidance on this would be highly appreciated :)

Thankyou

Considering that the Klipsch has relatively high sensitivity at 94.5dB (as per spec sheet), the AN1000 might be suffice for smaller space.
Just don't expect theater levels of performance though. Also, the AN1000 actual power rating is all over the place.

If you can stretch your budget slightly, Denon AVC-X3800H at 1,099 GBP (at select stores) seems to be an all-around winner, with higher power (and a 70% guarantee at 5ch), full HDMI 2.1, full pre-outs.