• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Room EQ & component upgrade

pavlorr

Hi,

First of all, I just discovered this forum a few days ago and I must say that it's blown my mind how nice of a community this is.

I found this forum because I've been unhappy with the sound of my system and was specifically looking for EQ possibilities. To preface this, I am an absolute amateur when it comes to sound systems. I understand the role of each component but all the intricacies that you guys research are way way waaaaaaaaaayyyyy above my league. Specifically, about a year ago, I got the Klipsch RP-600M (that were given a rather negative review on the forum) for a 2.1 setup. When my partner and I got them, we auditioned them versus a number of capable (and often suggested here) speakers such as KEFs, ELACs, Monitor Audio Silvers and others and we both agreed they sounded the best BUT we were never able to emulate that quality at home.

Our system consists of the following:

Chromecast -> Sony Bravia -> Toslink -> DAC -> Onkyo -> Klipsch RP600M/Wharfedale 150W

There are three problems that I want to try and solve (with a budget of <£1000):

1. I've not measured the Frequency Response yet, but by ear, I am not expecting a good graph.

2. Onkyo does not have a dedicated sub-out which means my sub is wired with the speakers (according to Wharfedale's spec);

3. My DAC is not great and ideally, I would like to replace it

After spending ~30hours of the last 3 days reading about EQing, minidsp, etc. , I think I have the following options: