• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Revel M16 for $650 or F208 for $2250

MusicEater

Hello Audioscience community,

I'm very new to the audiophile scene and had a few questions. I moved into a new home with a home theater room size: 20.3 ft X 16 ft X 8.9 ft (WidthXLengthXHeight)
I will be playing mostly movies with some music probably a 60/40 split.

I have been doing some research into the best budget speakers to get and have landed on either the Revel Concerta2 M16 or the M106. However, I have the ability to buy a used set of F208's for around $2250usd.

I am also open to other speakers that would fit what the M16's can do for the price. My question is would be, is it worth it to upgrade to the F208's or will the M16's be fine

PS: I have also ordered the RSL Speedwoofer 12S

Thank you!

Last edited:

Power Pop 23

Forum Donor
Welcome to ASR,

I use M16's with a subwoofer for music and movies with stereo or mono soundtracks. I think you would be fine with M16's in conjunction with a subwoofer. Otherwise I would choose the F208's.

sarumbear

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Welcome to ASR,

I use M16's with a subwoofer for music and movies with stereo or mono soundtracks. I think you would be fine with M16's in conjunction with a subwoofer. Otherwise I would choose the F208's.
I ditto that. As you will be mainly watching films, you will need a subwoofer anyway. If it was me I would go with 3x M16 as LCR.

Power Pop 23

Forum Donor
That IS a great price on F208's. Consider whether the space can benefit from room treatment. Others at ASR are better versed at making suggestions in that regard.

ROOSKIE

Major Contributor