• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Requesting help with strange REW result

73hadd

Forum Donor
Hi all! My first attempt at measurements with UMIK and REW. Sorry for the graphic quality, let me know what additional data will help.

Microphone at LP, 6ft away from speakers, on axis, speakers 6ft apart:

REW.jpg

I did bottom one first, labeled "Both Speakers" L+R measurement first and saw the huge dip at 15k and the other dip centered at around 5k. I then went back and did the Right and Left separately as noted. Since the dip was not there individually, I did the "both" again and got the same result as the "Both Speakers" as shown.

Again I am new to this so maybe this is expected due to an error in my setup/test method.

Any help is appreciated!

LTig

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi all! My first attempt at measurements with UMIK and REW. Sorry for the graphic quality, let me know what additional data will help.

View attachment 70885
I did bottom one first, labeled "Both Speakers" L+R measurement first and saw the huge dip at 15k and the other dip centered at around 5k. I then went back and did the Right and Left separately as noted. Since the dip was not there individually, I did the "both" again and got the same result as the "Both Speakers" as shown.

Again I am new to this so maybe this is expected due to an error in my setup/test method.

Any help is appreciated!
The dips in the green plot are the result of cancelling effects due to the microphone not being in the perfect position (slightly different distance from speaker to microphone). Just ignore it since you listen with 2 ears.

Purité Audio

Master Contributor
Industry Insider
Barrowmaster
Forum Donor