• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Difference in measurements between left and right speakers (newbie)

behindthesofa

Newbie here, so please forgive me if I aslk stupid questions ;-)

So I recently got a UMIK-1 and am measuring my speakers to perform room correction. I did some periodic pink noise sweeps (moving microphone method) of the left and right channel separately. I think I see quite substantial differences in frequency response due to room modes between the two speakers, but that is not unexpected as they are not symmetrically placed in the room (left speaker much closer to the sidewall than right speaker).

This is not the issue I want to talk about though. I noticed a substantial dip @ 2.3kHz in the right speaker only. Can this be due to differences in crossover? I would be interested in any input on these differences. Should I convince my wife it's time for new speakers ;) ?

Left measurement (avg of 3 mmm measurements) in orange, right measurement (avg of 4 mmm measurements) in blue/purple. I added the REW .mdat file as well with all the measurements.

1708356065932.png

Thanks a lot!

Attachments

• mmm_lr.mdat.zip
    161.4 KB · Views: 24
Last edited:

Weeb Labs

Addicted to Fun and Learning
It is perfectly normal for each channel to produce a slightly different measurement depending upon placement.

Your right channel does appear to exhibit a very narrow cancellation at 2.3KHz but this is most likely the result of differing reflections and absorption; especially if the speaker is in close proximity to a wall or floor. It is unlikely to be audible and I would recommend using 1/12th or 1/24th smoothing.