• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Preamp into two "monoblocks". Am I getting this right?

jackshultz

Hello. Total newb at this sort of thing. I own a vintage reciever and a pair of 6ohm (dipping to 4 ohm) speakers (87% sensitivity) The setup works fine but I feel the speakers
could benefit from a bit more "grunt". Therefore, I want to experiment and add two cheap Chinese amps to act as monoblocks.
Am I right that once I remove the connecting pre / main pins in the reciever I can then use two RCA splitter cables; one connecting left preamp out to the left inputs on both amps and the same for the right channel? If so, are there any particular models of Chinese amps I should be looking at?
Your input would be greatly appreciated.
Jack

Chrispy

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
What particular receiver do you have? You mean 87dB sensitivity for the speakers? What speakers particularly? Why cheap monoblocks, what will that accomplish?

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
If the amps you get are monoblocks they will only have one input. So no splitter. Left pre out once you pull the pins goes to the left amp. Right pre out goes to the right amp.

If they are stereo amps which can be bridged and you wish to bridge them, again once bridged left out to left amp and right out to right amp.

If what you have in mind is bi-amping, then a splitter from left output to both inputs on left amp, and right output to both inputs on right amp.

Good idea on questions like this to tell us as much as you can. Make and model of your receiver and if you know which amps you plan to get then make and model of those.

OP
J

jackshultz