• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Power Any Low Voltage DC Device with USB C Power Delivery Chargers and Powerbanks

maverickronin

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Quick Intro:

In another thread I posted a picture my RME ADI-2 DAC running off of a powerbank. I received a PM asking for more details about how It worked so I though I'd type up something a little more comprehensive.

This should hopefully be useful to complete noobs and not require any tools besides a multimeter, a wire stripper, and a glasses screwdriver. I've tried to include explicit mentions of various safety checks which would to obvious to someone more experienced but hopefully others can read though it and point out anything I may have missed.

If anyone is interested in doing this for themselves but a little unsure please reply to the thread and ask for help. Onto the show...

The first thing to understand is USB C Power Delivery. It's a spec for a variable charging system which can output between 5 and 20 volts at up to 5 amps. The device to be charged can negotiate with the charger to pick what available voltage and current it would like. This makes one charger or powerbank could be capable of powering various devices with different power requirements.

The only "downside" to this is that it's new so plenty of things which could support it don't.