• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

My first successful speaker and room correction using REW and MacOS system-wide EQ

f1shb0n3

Forum Donor
Acknowledgement
Thanks @3125b for the suggestion to use a measurement microphone for room correction EQ at my first noob question on the forum and everyone else's comments - without your advice I would have spent $1000+ on stuff without getting any actual improvement, where now I got a massive bump in sound quality for $70 and got to spend some quality time learning about room measurement and EQ correction.

About me
I'm still a noob in the audio world - have been listening happily to my KRK Rokit 8 G2 studio monitors with KRK 10s subwoofer connected to Motu M2 in my home office and enjoying it a lot. Little I knew how bad my speakers actually sounded..

My EQ story
Few days ago I bought Dayton Audio EMM-6 mic and measured speakers and sub from my listening position using Room EQ Wizard. These Rokit 8 G2s measured exactly as they sound - pretty much a V-shaped curve in relation to the target. Applying some EQ to correct it to loosely match the Harman target using only 5 bands of parametric EQ (to minimize loss of quality from over EQ-ing) I got an incredible improvement in sound quality. I can't believe I was listening to the non-EQ'd version of my speakers and thought they sound fine - A/B testing of no EQ vs EQ is a night and day difference! I can definitely say I enjoy my music so much more now.

Here's the original frequency response (red), the target (blue) and the EQ'd (green) frequency response:
Frequence response EQ no EQ.png