• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

REW -> EQ -> no change in frequency response

surroundman

Hello.

I am fairly new in both REW and Equalizer APO.

As I am still learning (and waiting for UMIK-1 to arrive), I am experimenting with measuring my speakers with my regular USB mic (PC desktop system). A weird issue occurs that no matter what EQ settings (wild enough for the sake of testing) I apply on EQAPO, the frequency response measurement in REW is always the same (with some tiny differences due to ambient noise, but imagine its pretty much the same). What am I missing here? Does REW negate EQAPO settings and only measure with no EQ? If that is the case, how do I measure speakers with EQ applied? Or, have I missed some setting?

Thanks.

Sokel

Master Contributor
Hello.

I am fairly new in both REW and Equalizer APO.

As I am still learning (and waiting for UMIK-1 to arrive), I am experimenting with measuring my speakers with my regular USB mic (PC desktop system). A weird issue occurs that no matter what EQ settings (wild enough for the sake of testing) I apply on EQAPO, the frequency response measurement in REW is always the same (with some tiny differences due to ambient noise, but imagine its pretty much the same). What am I missing here? Does REW negate EQAPO settings and only measure with no EQ? If that is the case, how do I measure speakers with EQ applied? Or, have I missed some setting?

Thanks.
The way I test all EQ's to make sure is with the program I use to play music with (foobar in my case) .