• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Measuring a phono preamp with QuantAsylum 402

radix

Major Contributor
I'm new to the QA402, so I wanted to check out a few things with the experts. I have an MC phono preamp that's setup for 62dB gain or switchable to 68 dB.

To measure its performance, I believe I want to do this:

Get a baseline for self-noise and THD+N
- Shunt the L- and R- with 50R caps
- Hookup my BNC-RCA cables input-to-output (I'd use a barrel connector)
- Measure the self-noise (no signal) and THD+N (1kHz) to get a baseline (these are -114 dBV and -81 dBV respectively)

To measure FR
- Select the User weighting and RIAA Record Response
- Use EchoChirp @ -68 dBV (for 0.4 mV) output

To measure gain:
- Select the User weighting and RIAA Record Response
- Use multitone
- view Gain dB
- Should be around 62 dB

To measure THD+N
- Use GEN1 @ 1 kHz and -68 dBV output
- View THD+N

I imagine I'm missing something. Also, are there any measurement threads I missed that go over this already?

Thanks,
Marc

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
If you want to be compatible with my measurements, I use 5 mv for MM and 0.5 mv for MC simulation. With most phono stages, these tests become basically SNR as the distortion is far lower than the noise at lower frequencies.

I run THD+N vs output voltage to graph the point where it clips to show headroom.

LTig

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm new to the QA402, so I wanted to check out a few things with the experts. I have an MC phono preamp that's setup for 62dB gain or switchable to 68 dB.

To measure its performance, I believe I want to do this:

Get a baseline for self-noise and THD+N
- Shunt the L- and R- with 50R caps