• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking to upgrade from Yamaha HS50 (Alpha 50 Evo, 8030C).

Boy_Narf

Hello Everyone,

I'm a musician and do engineering/mixing for my band (garage/punk) and solo projects (post rock/metal). I've been using a set of HS50's for ages now and I'm looking for something less harsh with a bit more low end extension. I believe the HS50 starts rolling off in the 70's and I have troubles hearing the low end. I tried adding an HS8S a few years back but I really struggled to get it balanced and went back to just the monitors within a few days.

I spent a few hours over two days at L&M shooting out speakers. The top contenders for me are:

Focal Alpha 50 Evo.
Genelec 8030c (over budget).