• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for suggestions for a budget setup under 300$ to play CDs in my dorm

kvluo

Hi, complete newbie here who also happens to be a broke college student. I was looking for a space-friendly budget setup for playing CDs as the title has stated, and so far I'm planning to purchase a DVD player hooked up with a Schiit stack (Modi 3+ with Magni 3+), connected to a pair of Edifier r1280t or Neumi BS5P. I'm wondering if Magni 3+ will be enough to power these speakers and whether there is a better setup for this price range?

Willem

Major Contributor
Denon has a number of good micro systems. Their weakest link is inevitably the speakers, but if you get a system with a powerful enough amplifier you can always upgrade to better speakers later. If you opt to go the active speaker route, a decent DAC with volume control such as the Topping E30 is your best front end. Why not move to streaming instead of CDs?

Last edited:

charleski

Major Contributor
If you're going to use active speakers then the magni 3 will be doing nothing other than providing a volume knob. Buying an external DAC is a waste if it means you're skimping on the speakers. So the first thing I'd do is lose the Schiit stack.
Other very cheap active speakers to consider are the Mackie CR3-X and Presonus Eris.