• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Adding a streamer to my current setup.

Quatorzepr

Hi all, I'm an ASR newbie!

So, I plan on upgrading my streaming setup on my system and have a question about my options.

My current system is dedicated to a turntable consisting of a Linn LP 12 Sondek, a Rega Brio R Amplifier, a pair of ELAC Debut 2.0 F5.2 speakers, and a Schiit Modi 3. I use the Schiit Modi 3 with Apple Music app on my iPhone using a USB-Lightning Cable, which can be inconvenient since I need to leave my phone hardwired.

What I want to do is be able to stream high-quality music (CD quality is fine) without leaving my phone behind. I was looking for a $500 streamer and found two options, the Sonos Port and the Bluesound Node. I’m inclined to get the Sonos Port because I’m also thinking of getting a pair of outdoor speakers, and I think Sonos has more options than Bluesound in that category. However, I’ve heard that the Bluesound Node can stream higher quality than the Sonos.

So, would I need to add an external DAC to the Sonos or the Bluesound streamer? Or does the internal DAC on those are better than my Schiit Modi 3, or any other external DAC at that price range (< $300)?

I don’t know if the Sonos/Bluesound is more of a “streamer” rather than a DAC.

My budget is ~$750 - $1,000 USD, so if I need an additional DAC for either the Sonos or the Bluesound, I would instead choose another option.

NiagaraPete

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
First thing to do is check the review index on this site. You’ll probably find that the best streamer is a Pi perhaps with a hat or a Wiim. 500 for a streamer in my mind is extreme over spend.

Xombul

Forum Donor