• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Kali IN5 or ADAM T7V or Focal Alpha 65 EVO?

vuljami

Hi y'all,

newbie here considering new monitors. I've narrowed the options down to these three after going through dozens of threads here and elsewhere as well as multiple A/Bs on Youtube (+ intend to go to a local retailer and listen to each of them asap) and still seem to be unable to make up my mind, hence this thread.

Primarily the monitors would be for mixing (mainly rock but also experimental / electronic), but also for just listening to music and some producing and mastering. Almost exclusively nearfield. So preferably flat, revealing and suited to above-mentioned needs, but if they also sound "fun/pleasant/immersive" then all the better. My room is about 4x4m with no proper treatment but doesn't sound horrible either. I like my mixes to be a bit scooped-sounding and relatively heavy on upper mids and highs.

The mids on the Kalis impress me the most so far, which is crucial considering the type of music I make. I think vocals sounded the best on these also. I'm a bit worried about their highs though. The width/soundstage and separation seems great as well.

The Focals' bass is definitely their best part, but I also heard that the upper mids around 3k and highs can be harsh due to a lousy tweeter, which could result in some problems with guitars and vocals (no less given my love for some screech in that area). The separation and width on these seems really impressive though.

The overall sound on the Adams is probably the least impressive according to some of the A/Bs on YT, but then again I've only read good things about them and love the top end clarity of the ribbon tweeters.