• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

IFI PS?

Olli

Forum Donor
Hi, I am new to this very interesting place. I was wondering if I had missed it or if it was a good idea to have a closer look at the IFI PS which is widely used with lots of my frieds to replace the OEM PS that come with Routers, Switches etc - or even to poeer the Microrendu or SOTM SMS 200.
Mark

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Hi there. Welcome to the forum. I have extensively tested the iFi Power supply with other USB/digital tweaks. Net summary is that it leaks AC current into system ground, usually making things worse than better.

But I will do an independent review of it so that it is easy to find.

Likewise I have tested the iFi DACs in other reviews but will do a stand-alone review for those too.

bunkbail

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Hopefully you can try it out with D50 too. microRendu performs worse with iFi iPower due to incompetent engineering in it, but I don't think D50 is the same, I'd love to be proven wrong though.

OP
Olli

Olli

Forum Donor
Super, thanks Amir and really looking forward to it!

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Hopefully you can try it out with D50 too. microRendu performs worse with iFi iPower due to incompetent engineering in it, but I don't think D50 is the same, I'd love to be proven wrong though.
Yes, you read my mind. That is exactly where I will start testing it.

For others, I need to split the USB power. I lost the cable I made before. Anyone sell a cheap USB power splitter cable?

OP
Olli

Olli

Forum Donor
And maybe you could even extend it to some other popular makes -HDPlex200, Teddy Pardo, SBooster, JS-2, e.g.?

Wombat