• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

I need to listen flac. Which approach is best to use?

Steiners

Hi all,

I'm new to the HIFI world and trying to get the approach is right for me before I buy anything. I would like to hear the opinions of experienced in this topic.

Goal: Play mostly chamber classical music saved in flac format. Music is sorted into folders. Nothing else is needed. Place for speakers is only on shelves, maximum 0.2m from the wall, distance to the listener 3-4m. Budget is 500-600€.

After googling, I came up with two options:

1 . Android phone + LDAC -> amp -> speakers
+: Any player can be used. No need remote control
-: lower than CD quality. But the question is will I be able to hear it? I'm not young and not audiophile.
2. Computer -> (dac -> amp) -> speakers
+: maximum quality
+: foobar2000 ;-)
-: computer always on
-: It’s not clear how to ensure high-quality transfer from a computer to a DAC. I've read about problems with the built-in optical outputs and USB transfers.

There were two more options, but I discarded them (maybe I’m wrong):
a) Active speakers. In my budget I only see monitors, but 3-4 meters may be far + this is a tool for work, not pleasure, right?
b) Computer -> streamer(DNLA) + phone -> (dac -> amp) -> speakers. Here, firstly, I'm tied to the streamer app (does it see the folders?). Secondly, I'm paying for a bunch of features that I don't need. And I get all the disadvantages of option 2.

So, what's your opinion? I would be grateful for advice on choosing a concept and specific examples of equipment.

Audiotone

Look at this...made quite a few of these on a raspberry... cheapest way to go.
Add a dac/amp and speakers...

staticV3

Master Contributor