• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How can I perform a completely proper ABX test?

nyxnyxnyx

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I've been joining this hobby for a few years but it's mostly on the subjective and biased side. This year I feel like I want to learn more and be more knowledgeable and rational in this aspect.... And I realized that I've never done a proper ABX test.

Can anyone here teach me how to perform a true ABX test? Like, what devices, resources do I need to set up? If possible, please explain it in layman terms so I can understand better, as I'm not too fluent in English.

restorer-john

Grand Contributor
ABX is a useless joke. (A or B or 'x')

Mostly the proponents of ABX have never compared anything, letalone 2 or 5 amplifers all at once or more than 2 pairs of speakers at once, letalone 10 pairs.

It's useful for (a) or (b) is different comparisons- that's all. Nothing else.

eddantes

Well... lets start small.

Lets say you want to compare two speakers (you will do so in mono), you will need to ensure that both speakers are equally loud. To do so you might want to use a microphone and a pink noise generator. To make the adjustment to loudness, you might employ something like a MiniDSP 2x4 to make one louder as needed, but you can use the balance knob and the A/B switch too. Pink noise that you measure with your mic and ensure that the two speakers produce same levels. Now you need a way to rapidly switch between the two - so hopefully you can use the aforementioned a/b switch or you will need to procure a switching device on Amazon (or where ever). Now just set the two speakers close to eachother, play music, close your eyes, and use that a/b switch to rapidly cycle.