• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!
Hi,

I'm new to the Hi-Fi and audiophile world and want to setup a new home system.
My room size is about 25 Sqm (270 sqft).

I don't have room for a Surround system so I decided to go for a decent stereo setup and maybe add subwoofer later if needed.
So here are the products I chose:
Speakers: Klipsch RP-600M II (Ordered them already at ~$460)
AMP: Audiolab 7000A (Will buy it soon at around ~$1500)
Turntable: In the research phase (Something under ~$500)
Power Stabilizer: Some local brand that I used for years and have trust (~$80)

I'm going to use this system for listening to music (from Phono, PC, and AUX), watching movies (Netflix and Apple TV+ mainly), and playing games (Xbox Series S).

I need help understanding what I need, and how to setup them the right way.
So my main questions are:
1. What type of cables do I need? (Power, Speaker, HDMI, RCA, AUX, PC USB) am I missing something?
2. How to choose good cables without sacrificing quality or overspending on this system?
3. What software do I need to be able to play DSD, FLAC, WAV quality? (I'm using MacBook Pro)
4. Should I buy cables and plugs and setup them up by myself (especially speaker cables) or just buy preconfigured ones?
5. Anything else that I'm not aware of?

Note 1: I live in Armenia so my electricity is 220V.
Note 2: My only option to buy all the products is to order them online from US and Europe.

Keith_W

Major Contributor
Welcome to ASR!